

## BELLES RIVES HOTEL ANNOUNCES THE LAUREATE OF THE FITZGERALD 2023 PRIZE



Quentin Tarantino receives the 12th Fitzgerald Prize for "Cinema and Speculation".

## Press release - Juin 2023

Cap d'Antibes, France (June, 9 2023) - In an unforgettable ceremony held this evening at the Hôtel Belles Rives, the members of the jury for the Prix Fitzgerald, the French literary prize created in 2011 by Marianne Estène-Chauvin, President of the Francis Scott Fitzgerald Academy and owner of Groupe Belles Rives, today announced this year's laureate. The long-awaited nonfiction debut from New York Times #1 bestselling author of "Once Upon a Time in Hollywood", American filmmaker Quentin Tarantino has been awarded the prize for "Cinema and Speculation", published by Harper Collins on November 1, 2022 and by French publisher Flammarion on March 22, 2023.

Every June, the Hôtel Belles Rives hosts the Prix Fitzgerald, which rewards a novel or short story that reflects the elegance, wit and art of living embodied by the American writer and adopted son of the Côte d'Azur, Francis Scott Fitzgerald. This year's nominees include Manuel Vilas, Antoine Wilson, Joyce Carol Oates, Gabriel Byrne, Domenico Starnone and Quentin Tarantino, who becomes the winner of this year's award. Tarantino accepted the award in a speech delivered on the terrace overlooking the splendor of the iconic bay of Juan-les-Pins. This is the **first literary prize for "Cinema and Speculation".** 

Flammarion offers a summary of the book: "Not content with being one of the most talented and adored directors of his generation, Quentin Tarantino is perhaps the cinephile who knows best how to talk about films and convey his incandescent passion for cinema. A cinema-goer from an early age, it's to the Hollywood of the 1970s, the formative years of his career, that he devotes Cinema Speculations - a director's cut as intellectually rigorous as it is joyously exuberant. Combining personal history, colourful anecdotes, analysis and film reviews, Cinéma spéculations offers the reader, drawn in by Quentin Tarantino's unique and exhilarating verve, a fascinating lesson in cinema and life".

The Fitzgerald Prize laureate is selected by a jury of journalists, writers and film personalities with a passion for literature: François Armanet, Hélène Filières, Eric Neuhoff, Daphné Roulier-de Caunes, Fédéric Beigbeder, Marie-Dominique Lelièvre, Christophe Ono dit Biot, Bertrand de Saint Vincent, the latter being the chairman. They selected the competing titles on March 23, and chose the two finalists for the Fitzgerald Prize in mid-May. The award recognizes a novel or short story that reflects the elegance, wit, taste for style and art of living of American writer Francis Scott Fitzgerald.



"We mustn't forget that half of F. Scott Fitzgerald's life was devoted to the cinema, and that he was responsible for hundreds of short stories and screenplays that provided him with an appreciable livelihood," said Marianne Estène-Chauvin. "There is an undeniable link between the great author and the work of Quentin Tarantino, an abundance of quotations and images that form a constellation in today's modern sky."

Tarantino joins the portfolio of recent Fitzgerald Prize laureates, including Jonathan Dee, Jeffrey Eugenides, Jay McInerney, Christopher Bollen and William Boyd, as well as separate prizes awarded on rare occasions; a Gatsby Prize awarded to Thadée Klossowski de Rola and a Zelda Prize awarded to Dominique Bona of the Académie Française.

The Fitzgerald Award ceremony took place on the terrace overlooking the romantic, rocky peninsula with its white jetty facing the adjacent islands, a panorama famous for the "green light" that inspired the great American writer. The Fitzgerald Award concluded with a dinner held in the exclusive setting of the legendary terraces of this iconic Cap d'Antibes hotel.



The Hôtel Belles Rives is an Art Deco jewel rising above the sparkling blue waters of the Mediterranean. It was here that F. Scott Fitzgerald wrote Tender is the Night. The establishment bears witness to the extravagance of a bygone era, while boasting a modern design. It offers 43 recently renovated rooms and suites. A unique Mediterranean gastronomic experience can be enjoyed at La Passagère, the on-site 1 Michelin star restaurant run by culinary maestro Aurélien Véquaud. Classic cocktails are on offer at the recently renovated Bar Fitzgerald, named in honor of the establishment's first resident. The hotel's private beach includes the Belles Rives Beach Restaurant, the Water Sports Club and the jetty housing the hotel's private dock. The feeling of well-being can be extended with an innovative treatment from the luxurious Swiss skincare house Valmont, on site in its eponymous beauty salon.

The estate, whose lineage of owners dates back to the 1930s, is now run by the fourth generation, 41-year-old Antoine Chauvin-Estène, who brings a balanced, refreshing approach to this iconic Côte d'Azur classic. The next generation is assured.

For more information, visit bellesrives.com and follow on Instagram @bellesrives.

Press and Marketing contact François Gelly fgelly@bellesrives.com +33 (0)4 97 21 72 30







## JURY MEMBERS

Chaired by Bertrand de Saint Vincent, the jury selected the above novels for the competition on March 23. A further session in mid-May will select the two finalists for the Prize. The jury is made up of personalities with a passion for literature:

Bertrand de Saint Vincent, deputy editor of Le Figaro, journalist (*Tout Paris*) and literary columnist (Prix Louis-Hachette), published *Nocturne Français* in 2022, a collection of nearly 80 columns exploring today's cultural microcosm.

Daphné Roulier-De Caunes, print and broadcast journalist (Les Grands Entretiens on LCP and Radio Classique).

Marie-Dominique Lelièvre, print journalist (JDD) and French writer (*Le N°5 de Chanel, biographie non autorisée*), author of novels and biographies (*Françoise Hardy: Étoile distante*, 2022)

Eric Neuhoff, film critic and writer, journalist for Le Figaro and columnist for Le Masque et la plume, Prix Renaudot essay 2019 for (Très) Cher cinéma français and Prix Interallié in 1997 for La petite Française.

François Armanet, journalist, editor-in-chief at L'Obs, author of several films (*Haut les filles*) and books (*Les Minets*) including the latest with Élisabeth Quin (*Le détail qui tue. Petit précis de style de Proust à Rihanna*).

Fréderic Beigbeder, writer (*Un roman français, Oona et Salinger; Confessions d'un hétérosexuel légèrement dépassé*, 2023), literary critic, screenwriter, television host, film director and creator of the Prix de Flore, for which he chairs the jury.

Christophe Ono dit Biot, journalist, deputy managing editor of the weekly Le Point and writer (*Plonger*, Grand Prix du Roman de l'Académie Française; *La Minute antique* et *Trouver refuge*, 2022).

Hélène Fillières, actress (*Mafiosa*), French screenwriter and director (*Une histoire d'amour, Volontaire; Une confession,* 2023). She later translated a series of works by Dorothy Parker for Christian Bourgois..



From left to right : Marie-Dominique Lelièvre, Bertrand de Saint-Vincent, François Armanet, Eric Neuhoff, Daphné Roulier-De-Caunes, Fréderic Beigbeder, Christophe Ono dit Biot